Busy year ahead for Ahoghill YFC

The new committee of 2016/17.
The new committee of 2016/17.

Ahoghill Young Farmers’ Club has had a packed winter programme ahead of a big year for the club which celebrates its 85th anniversary in 2016.

So far the winter programme has included meetings such as jiving, a games night, a trip to Crumlin Road Gaol, and an exchange night with Kilraughts YFC.

The club has also held its club dinner and prize giving in December in the Wild Duck with YFCU President Roberta Simmons as guest speaker and to present the prizes to members.

Some of the prizes awarded on the night were Best Junior Male – Stephen Speers; Best Junior Female – Louise

Gillespie; Best Senior Male – Jonathan Bristow; Best Senior Female – Michelle Petticrew; and Best Newcomer – Andrew Greer.

The night was a great success with almost 70 members attending.

The club brought Santa to the village of Ahoghill in style this Christmas for the lights switch-on in a tractor and sleigh decorated by members with lights.

Also in the village, the Church of Ireland was holding a Christmas Tree Festival where Ahoghill YFC created one for the event.

The club held its AGM in January where the committee for the year 2016/2017 was voted on.

The main roles are Club Secretary - Kathryn Thompson; Club Leader – Michael Patterson; Club Treasurer - Jonathan Bristow; and Club PRO – Kathryn Speers.

The club would like to thank everyone who was on the 2015/16 committee for all their hard work in making the year such a successful one for the club.

The most recent club meeting was a Rovin Supper and the club would like to thank Pauline and David Gillespie for hosting the starter, Fiona and Miller Speers for hosting the main course, Samuel and Elizabeth Watson for hosting the dessert and all the members who provided desserts.

In 2016, the club celebrates its 85th year and the club is growing bigger and stronger since the relaunch in 2011.

Watch out for what the club will be doing to celebrate this massive achievement in the coming months including an 85th celebratory dinner in November.