Met office issues 'Yellow Warning of Snow and Ice for Northern Ireland'

editorial image

The Met Office have issued a 'yellow warning for snow and ice for Northern Ireland.

According to the Met Office all counties are affected - County Antrim, County Armagh, County Down, County Fermanagh, County Londonderry & County Tyrone.

The weather warning is valid from 8pm today to 10am tomorrow.

The Met Office site warns: "Showers on Monday evening, overnight and into Tuesday morning will fall increasingly as snow and hail, with accumulations mainly on hills but locally to lower levels too.

"Ice is also likely to form on untreated surfaces, whilst lightning may be an additional hazard. This may lead to some transport disruption and difficult driving conditions."