Winners’ roll call: Council honours

editorial image

Forty-seven individuals and groups were honoured this afternoon for their role in making the Ballymena borough a better place to live and work during the last four decades.

Those receiving awards were drawn from across the community, from business and industry to sports and the arts.

A number of individuals were presented with Exceptional Contribution awards included: Ahoghill in Bloom Team - Community; Ballymena Festival of Music & Dance - The Arts; Barbara Cameron - Sports; Billy O’Kane OBE - Business & Industry; The Baroness O’Loan DBE MRIA - Legal Services; Dr William Wright CBE - Business & Industry; James Perry - Community; Ken Reid - Media & Broadcasting; Michael O’Neill - Sports; Norman McBurney OBE - Business & Industry; Norman Worthington - Community; Thomas Millar MBE - The Arts.

Recognition awards were also presented to: Alan Ross; Frank Mc Ardle; Mid Antrim Motor Club; All Saints Amateur Boxing Club; Gerry Hamill; Nicholas Mc Kenna; Ballymena Chamber Orchestra; Gloonan House Gardeners; Rachael Coulter; Ballymena Borough Church Members; Jack Kernohan; Richard Wilson; Ballymena Business Centre Staff Team; Jack Kerr; Roberta Boyd; Ballymena Saturday Morning League; Joshua Millar; Sainsbury’s Staff; David Toney; Josephine Higgins; Samaritans Ballymena Branch; Desi Montgomery; Ivy Goddard MBE; Sammy Mc Auley; Dr Beverly Cherie Millar; Lisa Kirkwood; Samuel Hanley Letters; Dr David Johnston; Lorraine Mc Allister; Sharon Hutchings & Stephanie Mc Peake; Drew Cochrane; Lynn Mc Burney; Stephen Davison; Eugene Mc Keever MBE; Marian Maguire Dinsmore.