Ballymena Towers Pool League prize night

THE curtain came down on another Ballymena Towers Pool League campaign on Friday night as the league held its annual dinner in the Ballymena United Sports and Social Club.

Tuesday, 17th May 2011, 12:00 pm

Pride of place went to Michelin Masters, who finally ended Minnesota Eight-Ballers’ domination of the league championship, after an epic struggle between the two teams.

Winners of the various awards were:

League championship: winners - Michelin Masters; runners-up - Minnesota Eight-Ballers.

Knockout Cup: winners - Minnesota Eight-Ballers; runners-up - Michelin Masters.

Shield: winners - Social Inbetweeners; runners-up - Social Sports.

Individual championship: winner - Gary Clarke; runner-up - John McAllister.

Doubles championship: Gary Clarke/Pat McAnally; runners-up - Jimmy Knowles/Stephen Holmes.

Three-a-side championship: Pat McAnally/Gary Clarke/Ryan Foster; runners-up - Stewart Frew/Lee Wright/Dessie Cooper.

Player of the Year: Donald Alexander (Michelin).

Tommy Nelson Memorial: winner - Ryan Foster; runner-up - Gary Clarke.

Senior individual: winner - Liam Erwin; runner-up - Ross Hill.

Top Four: winners - Minnesota Eight-Ballers; runners-up - Michelin Masters.

Braid Cup: winners - Slemish Hotshots; runners-up - Fairhill Hustlers.

Captains’ Night: winner - David Armstrong; runner-up - Campbell Garrett.

Team Player of the Year awards: Knockeden Jokers - Gareth Rowe (15 wins); Slemish Hotshots - Rodney Fleck/Chris Adams (10); Social Sports - Richard Turtle/Dennis Keenan (7); Minnesota Eight-Ballers - Pat McAnally (16); Connelly’s Bar - Joe McNally (10); Social Cobwebs - Stephen Holmes (13); Michelin Masters - Donald Alexander (18); Fairhill Hustlers - Ritchie Irwin (15); Horse and Jockey - Eddie Maxwell (7); Social Inbetweeners - Chris Penny (14).

Don’t miss this week’s Ballymena Times for a full picture special on the dinner.