Brian triumphs on Gortmacrane circuit

THE Gortmacrane course hosted the second round of Bann Valley Road Club's GMC Electrical-sponsored road race league.

Monday, 24th May 2010, 9:54 am
Updated Monday, 24th May 2010, 1:31 pm

The 45 riders were split into three groups for the handicap with gaps of four and seven minutes.

At the end of the first of the four laps the second group had regained almost two minutes of their handicap while the scratch men were having a more difficult time in closing the gap to the intermediate riders.

At the bell the first two groups were on the same stretch of road and the inevitable bunch sprint was expected and duly came with the three man sprint being won by Ballymena Road Club’s Brian Geddis from club mate Alan Blair in second with third place taken by Bann Valley’s Sammy Campbell, who is showing good form on his return to competition.

The other top ten placed riders were: 4. Stephen Walsh Carn Wh, 5. Geoff Allen BRC, 6. David Strang BVRC, 7. Alan Donegan BVRC, 8. Connor McAteer BVRC, 9. Declan McTaggart BVRC, and 10. Gerry MCullagh BVRC.

The remaining club top ten places were, Adrian McPeake, Brian Bonnar, Shane McAteer, Aidan Donnelly

Many thanks to all the marshals who helped at this race, their assistance was very much appreciated.