Cyclist Maeve lands ladies’ title

THERE was more time trial action on Thursday night when the final round of the David McCall Foundation/Bikedock Time Trial Series took place on the Ballydonaghy.

Friday, 7th September 2012, 10:35 am

Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – rider Maeve Savage, from Randalstown, clinched overall victory in the women’s league when she clocked a time of 27 minutes 36 seconds to finish second on the night to Amy Bryce (Phoenix) who recorded 23.54.

London 2012 Olympian David McCann (RTS) ran out a comfortable winner with a time of 19.57. John Heverin (Clann Eireann) took second place with a 20.38, beating Sunday’s Ulster 10 TT Champion Marcus Christie, who clocked 20.48.

John Heverin’s ride confirmed him as the overall winner of the series and Ballymena’s Maeve Savage took the overall women’s series.

Results (1) David McCann (RTS) 19.57 (2) John Heverin (Clann Eireann) 20.38 (3) Marcus Christie (U/A) 20.48 (4) John Madden 21.05 (5) Mark Greer (Maryland) 21.12 (6) William Larmour (East Antrim) 21.55.

Ballymena performances (9) Connor Young 22.45 (30) Adrian Kerr 25.00

Mark Greer, the Chairman of the David McCall foundation expressed his gratitude. “The Foundation would like to take the opportunity to thank everyone for their support throughout the series.

“A special word of thanks is extended to those who gave of their time to assist in the running of each event during the programme.

“Finally we would like to thank Gordon Parker (one of Ballymena RC’s timekeepers) for his much valued timekeeping skills.”


The popular Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles - series of fun cycle tours commences this Saturday 8th September from Rex Bonar House at 9.30am.

Once again the tours will receive support from Ballymena Borough Council who will host a presentation at the end of the series.

The normal well tried and tested format will continue for this year’s series. The participants will be divided into at least two groups with the more experienced riders scheduled to cover about 50 miles on their tour.

Certificates and medals will be awarded to the successful participants with five tours earning bronze, eight for silver while eleven wins gold.

Participants are advised that crash helmets must be worn. They are also advised to dress appropriately for the weather conditions and to bring a rain jacket, spare tube, food and money.

It goes without saying that bikes must be fully road worthy. With this in mind club Chairman Jim Burns has offered to do a “bicycle health check” and basic rider induction prior to Saturday’s first tour. Jim’s induction will also include instructions regarding rider safety and basic does and don’ts of group riding etc. You may contact Jim on 07838 193 888

There is a minimum one off entry fee of £5 to cover the fun tour series with the donations going to the Chernobyl children’s appeal NI.

Sunday 9th September. The Ulster 25 miles time trial championships are scheduled to be held on the Woodgreen course from 9am

Also on Sunday 9th September Ballymena Road Club’s touring section will hold their final “away for the day tour” when their “last resort, tour of the harbours” will leave from the duck pond in Ballymoney, the starting time will be 10am.

This end of season tour is very popular and is ridden at a moderate pace. The route will include Balnamore, Mountsandel, Coleraine, Portstewart, Portrush, Portballintrae, Dunseverick, Port Braddan and Ballintoy, where there is a tea stop at the harbour.

Then it’s on to Ballycastle and the inland route via Mosside and Dervock back to Ballymoney.