All change from United side who ended club’s trophy famine

Ballymena United's players celebrate the 2012 County Antrim Shield final win over Linfield. Picture: Press Eye.
Ballymena United's players celebrate the 2012 County Antrim Shield final win over Linfield. Picture: Press Eye.

They were the men who ended a Ballymena United trophy famine that had endured for virtually a quarter of a century.

But as Ballymena prepare to attempt to win the competition for the second time in four season tonight (Tuesday), it will be a much-changed United line-up that takes to the field from the one which overcame Linfield at the Oval in November 2012.

Only five of the 16-man squad who claimed Ballymena’s first major piece of silverware in 23 years remain at the Showgrounds, while four are no longer involved in football in any capacity.

Here, Times Sport takes a ‘where are they now’ look at the Shield-winning squad of 2012.

Stuart Addis: Veteran keeper whose two saves in the penalty shootout were crucial in the win. Now back-up keeper at Dungannon Swifts.

Tony Kane: One of the survivors of the team who has now been converted from right-back to midfield.

Ross Black: Left-back, who played for Rathfriland in last weekend’s Irish Cup tie with Crusaders.

David Munster: Hugely popular defender whose looping header put United ahead in the Shield final. Now retired.

Mark Surgenor: Homegrown utility player and fans’ favourite. Now at Carrick Rangers.

Aaron Stewart: Youth Academy product, who was named man-of-the-match in the final. Currently taking a year out from football.

Gary Thompson: Another still at the club, he scored in United’s weekend Irish Cup defeat by Linfield.

Alan Davidson: Enigmatic midfielder who tucked away the penalty that sealed the trophy. Quit football last year to concentrate on GAA.

James Costello: Striker who, like Black, now plays for Amateur League Rathfriland.

William Bingham: The Shield final was only the winger’s second senior match. Not currently playing football and plans to travel.

David Cushley: Another survivor from 2012, this will be his last final for Ballymena before a summer move to Crusaders.

Allan Jenkins: A sub in 2012 as he recovered from injury, he remains a key player for United.

James McCabe: Striker, who came on as sub in the final. Currently playing for Larne.

Jamie Davidson: Homegrown striker whose promising Irish League career stalled after he suffered two cruciate knee ligament injuries. Now playing in local Saturday Morning League.

Dwayne Nelson: Unused sub keeper in the final, he is still at the club but currently second choice behind Alan Blayney.

Chris Rodgers; The other unused sub that night. Now playing at Larne.