Four through in Junior Shield as Waveney win all-BSML encounter

Carniny Rangers players who had an eCare health check with Stephen Burns at Ballee Pharmacy. Included are Darren Kidd, Leslie McCaughern, Stephen Green and Ryan Bamber. INBT 44-173CS
Carniny Rangers players who had an eCare health check with Stephen Burns at Ballee Pharmacy. Included are Darren Kidd, Leslie McCaughern, Stephen Green and Ryan Bamber. INBT 44-173CS
Share this article

Four firmus energy Ballymena Saturday Morning League teams made it through to the third round of the Toals County Antrim Junior Shield at the weekend.

Connor FC, Newpark Olympic and Ahoghill Thistle all won their ties, while Waveney Swifts beat Galgorm Blues in the all-BSML tie


Ards Rangers II 2, Connor 4: Despite Connor controlling the early exchanges, the deadlock wasn’t broken until 24 minutes when Mervyn Crawford chipped the ball over the Ards defence for Steven Hill who lobbed the home keeper to make it 1-0.

Six minutes later Connor doubled their lead when Jamie White played in Ross Wilson who scored from an acute angle.

Connor were rampant now and added a third goal before half time when Jamie White released Steven Hill wide right and he played the ball back for Ross Wilson to fire into the top corner of the net.

Connor changed their shape in the second half to deal with the home sides wind advantage and this paid dividends on 49 minutes when they got a fourth goal on the counter attack. Darren Trainor intercepted a quick free kick from the home side and released Ross Wilson who played it back to Trainor to feed Jamie White to slot the ball home.

Ards got a goal back after Connor failed to clear a long ball.

Eight minutes later Ards set up a grandstand finish when they reduced their deficit to two.

Newpark Olympic 3, Warren YM 0: The Lisburn team that controlled the most of the first half creating four one on one chances but Ryan Carson was equal to them as he prevented his side from going behind.

Newpark then scored against the run of play when Stephen Brown converted a Stephen Kingsbury corner on the stroke of half time.

Newpark came out the second half a totally different team with the introduction of Jamie Nutter and Dee Killen and it wasn’t long until they found the net again through the prolific Nutter on the 63 minutes.

Newpark were then awarded a penalty which goalkeeper Ryan Carson converted to seal a great personal performance and send his side into the next round.

Ravenhill YM 0, Ahoghill Thistle 2: After a scoreless first half, Thistle took the lead when Colin Corry swung over a corner kick and the ball landed at the feet of David Drummond who curled the ball home from 18 yards out.

On 70 minutes Corry swung in another corner and Gareth Hill was on hand to head home from six yards.

Waveney Swifts 2, Galgorm Blues 1: This all BSML Division Two tie was played in very blustery conditions at the Waveney.

Galgorm took the lead against the run of play as David Meeke cleared the ball from the edge of his own box for Derek Montgomery to chase the ball down before beating the outrushing Richard Fulton to the ball and left himself clear to place the ball into the net.

Galgorm were unlucky not to go in 2-0 in front when a Stephen Steele shot rocketed off the bar but 20 minutes into the second half Gareth Mott collected the ball down the right hand side cut inside and fired the ball into the far corner of the net giving keeper Andrew Steele no chance.

Five minutes later Mott wriggled free down the right once again and from his cross, eventually the ball was headed home by Paul Craig for what proved to be the winner for Waveney.

firmus energy DIVISION ONE

Harryville Homers 5, All Saints OB 2: The opening goal came midway through the half when Gary Bonnes pounced on a loose back pass from Saints to fire the ball beyond the reach of Brian Martin in the Saints goal.

Six minutes later it was 2-0 when Darren Campbell ran onto a Richard Forsythe ball and placed the ball under Martin.

Saints got a lifeline almost immediately as they were awarded a penalty kick five minutes later when Emmet Kerr was fouled. Gavin Burnside coolly dinked the ball over Ryan Martin from the spot to make it 2-1.

Homers regained their two goal cushion when Bonnes found space on the edge of the box and delicately lobbed the ball over Brian Martin from 20 yards.

On the stroke of half time Bonnes completed his hat trick when he scored from close range after good work from Alan Rainey.

Saints gave themselves a sniff in the game when Liam Cassley shrugged off his marker and played in Neil McGarry who fired home to make it 4-2 but Homers killed the game off when David Nicholl’s cross come shot drifted over Brian Martin to continue Homers’ unbeaten start to the league.


FC Penarol are running a general knowledge quiz on Thursday 6th November in the Fountain Bar at 7.30pm.


Toals Co Antrim Junior Shield 2nd Round: FC Penarol 0, St Oliver Plunkett 5; Seven Towers 0, Cumann Sport An Phobail 6; Glenravel 1, St James Swifts 2; St Patricks YM II 3, Carniny Rangers 1; FC Antrim 1, St Matthews 6; Abbeyview 0, Kelvin OB 2.

firmus energy Division One: FC Moylena 4, Raceview 4.

firmus energy Division Two: Ahoghill Rovers 5, Cullybackey Olympic 0; Braid United 2, Cloughmills 5; Carnlough Swifts 2, St Comgalls 1.

firmus energy Division Three: Cushendall FC 1, Randalstown 5; Sporting Ballymoney 0, Wakehurst Star 0; Steadfast 1, Woodside 2; Templepatrick 2, Atletico Antrim 2.


Saturday, November 1 - Toals Co Antrim Junior Shield 2nd Round (1.30pm): Ballykeelv Dunaghy FC (Ballykeel).

County Antrim Post O’Kane Cup Quarter Finals (10.15am): All Saints OB v Seven Towers (Showgrounds 5); Clough Rangers v Connor FC (Clough); Braid United v Ahoghill Rovers (Broughshane); Harryville Homers v Glenravel (Wakehurst 2).

firmus energy Division One: Carniny Rangers v Raceview (Wakehurst 1); Abbeyview v FC Moylena (Forum).

firmus energy Division Two: Cullybackey Olympic v Waveney Swifts (Tober Park); Galgorm Blues v Lisnafillan Swifts; Riverdale v Cloughmills (Wakehurst 6); St Comgalls v Holywell.

CGRSC Sammy Moore Cup 1st Round 1st Leg: Sporting Ballymoney v Steadfast.

2nd Round 1st Leg: Randalstown v Cushendall; Templepatrick v Atletico Antrim (Forum); Wakehurst Star Woodside.