Homers retain Morning League title with dramatic win

Harryville Homers celebrate after winning the BSML Division 1 title. INBT22-226AC
Harryville Homers celebrate after winning the BSML Division 1 title. INBT22-226AC

Harryville Homers clinched their third successive firmus energy Ballymena Saturday Morning League title on Thursday night - in the most dramatic of circumstances.

Robert Duddy’s men had entered their penultimate league fixture against All Saints Old Boys knowing that a victory would see them secure the title at the expense of long-time leaders Ahoghill Thistle, who had already completed their fixtures.

But it looked as though Homers were going to have to put their celebrations on hold until their final game as they trailed 2-1 going into injury time against Saints.

Gavin Burnside had scored twice for All Saints with Ricky Nicholl replying in between for the Junior CUp champions.

David Nicholl looked to have secured a draw for Homers when he scored in stoppage time but from the restart, Homers regained possession and went on the attack, culminating in Gary Baird scoring a dramatic winner.

Earlier in the evening, Homers had lost defender Ricky Forsythe to a broken ankle and the best wishes of both teams and everyone associated with the league go to Ricky for a speedy recovery.

After the final whistle, David Fusco, of league sponsors firmus energy presented the championship trophy to Homers captain Gary Bonnes.

There’s more Saturday Morning League cup final action over the weekend, starting tonight as Galgorm Blues take on Riverdale in the Leighinmohr House Hotel Cup final (Division Two play-off) with a place in the top flight next season at stake. That match kicks off at Ballykeel at 7pm.

Then on Saturday morning, Cushendall play Woodside in the Paddy Dunlop Cup final (Division Three play-off) to see who will be promoted to the second division.

That match is at Showgrounds pitch 4 with a 10.15am kick-off.

* Don’t miss next week’s Ballymena Times for coverage of all these games.