SLIDESHOW: Ballymena United Youth Academy prize nights

Last Tuesday and Wednesday evening saw the 2013/14 awards nights for the various age groups at the Ballymena United Youth Academy.

Chairman and vice chair Philip Galloway and Davy Douglas reported on another highly successful year at the club.

The Ballymena United Youth U-14 Lisburn League squad photographed at their annual awards night. INBT 22-808H

The Ballymena United Youth U-14 Lisburn League squad photographed at their annual awards night. INBT 22-808H

More academy graduates than ever are getting their chance with the senior set up and with many of the best young players in the Borough now returning to the club from age 15 years up, the future is very bright at youth and reserve team level at present.

The mini soccer awards on the Tuesday night were a great success, the United under 9s and 10s this season have played a number of friendlies but have concentrated solely on technical aspects intensively all season with top training sessions from visiting coaches.

This has proven to be a great success, operating twice weekly at the excellent Sports Hut facility.

Stanley Galbraith and head of youth Joe McCall also spoke at length on both evenings, emphasising the superb facilities the club can access and the increasingly close ties with the senior club.

Both coaches made clear their vision of progression from the Academy eventually to the first team which is now clearer than ever with the present coaching team.

Prizes were awarded to the various age groups with a special mention to the United under 13 side that completed a full season in their National League unbeaten and claiming the title.

Prizewinners in the various age groups were:


Managers player of Year - Lewis Tennant; Runner up - Scott Montgomery

Young Player of Year - Callum Douglas

Most improved player - Philip Kennedy; Runner-up - Adam McLaughlin


Manager’s player of Year - Jordan McMullan; Runner up - Seanie Macintosh

Players’ player of Year - Bobby Rainey; Runner up - Lewis Clewer

Top scorer - Bobby Rainey (16 goals); Runner up - Seanie Macintosh

Most improved player - Sam Millar


Manager’s player of Year - Sean McAllister; Runner up - Ruairi Hagan

Players’ player of Year - Sean McAllister; Runner up - Ruairi Hagan

Top scorer - Ross McCausland (38); Runner up - Mark Butler, Matthew Lorimer

Most improved player - Rian Lennon


Manager’s player of Year - Aiden Gillen; Runner up - Danny Louw

Players’ player of Year - Scott Marcus; Runner up - Jack Heron

Top scorer - Sean McKay (25); Runner up - Aiden Gillen Rhys Hemphill

Most improved player - Connor Meneely


Manager’s player of Year - Ethan Galbraith; Runner up - Michael Craig

Players’ player of Year - Michael Craig; Runner up - Ethan Galbraith

Most improved player - Steven Hamilton


Manager’s player of Year - Joshua Galloway; Runner up - Eamon McLaughlin

Players’ player of Year - Jack O’Mahony; Runner up - Andrew Kyle

Top scorer - Harry Robinson (14); Runner up - Eamon McLaughlin

Most improved player - Andrew Smyth


Manager’s player of Year - Jonathan Carson; Runner up Jamie Timms

Players’ player of Year - Sam Armstrong; Runner up - Connor Graham

Top scorer - Jack Walshe (18); Runner up - Michael McCabe

Most improved player - Luke Stockman