Galgorm Castle ladies reflect on successful summer

Galgorm Castle Golf Club ladies’ section held its annual summer prizegiving dinner in the club recently.

Saturday, 18th October 2014, 7:00 am
Caroline Speers, the club's current Lady Captain on the left, receiving the Player of the Year award from Mrs Noreen Ritchie, the current Vice Captain, at Galgorm Castle Golf Club ladies' section prize night.

The prestigious Player of the Year Award, for the person who accumulated the highest total of points throughout the season, was won by Caroline Speers - a feat all the more noteworthy in light of the fact that she was also carrying out the many duties of her year as Lady Captain.

Runners-up were: 2. June Irvine; 3. Kerry Dunlop; 4. Bernie Daly; 5. Angela Graham

The remainder of the prizes were: Fitzsimmons Trophy – Fourball Better Ball Matchplay - Overall Winners: Jean Bowens & June Irvine; Runners-up: Pauline Thom & Bernie Daly.

O’Kane Cup – Singles Matchplay - Overall Winner: Pauline Thom; Runner-up: Angela Graham.

Fortescue Boot – Singles Matchplay - Overall Winner: Jean Bowens; Runner-up: Julie Ann Kyle.

Past Captains’ Competition – Singles Stableford - Overall Winner: Jane Shaw; Runner-up: Jean Bowens.

Frances Martin Trophy – best overall score from the 2 qualifying competitions - Winner: Caroline Speers

Breakthrough Brooch – Best September Stroke Competition - Dorothy Lattimore (nett 70)

Club Mixed – Foursomes - Overall Winners: Debbie McCooke & David Stirling Jnr; Runners-up: Caroline Speers & Ronan Speers.

Holes-in-One: Deborah McCooke; Ann McGuckian.

Birdie Tree Winners - 13 Birdies each: Kerry Dunlop & Bernie Daly

Summer Ringer - Section A (0-18): Kerry Dunlop; Section B (19–27): Jean Bowens; Section C (28–36): Julie Murray

Gentlemen’s Cup – Singles Strokeplay - Overall Winner: Judy Watson (nett 69); Runner-up: Patricia Gardiner (nett 70)

Victor McAfee - Singles Stableford - Overall Winner: Deborah McCooke (42 pts); Section A: June Irvine (37 pts); Section B: Shobie Khanna (38 pts).

Simon Houston – Singles Strokeplay - Overall Winner: June Irvine (nett 70); Section A: Susan McCarroll (nett 71); Section B: Angela Graham (nett 71).

Galgorm Estates – Singles Stableford - Overall Winner: Bernie Daly (41 pts); Section A: Kerry Dunlop (35 pts); Section B: Julie Murray (40 pts).

31 at Greenvale Street – Singles Strokeplay - Overall Winner: Judy Watson (nett 69)

Section A: Jenny McCooke (nett 70); Section B: Kate Millar (nett 70).

Progressive Building Society – Singles Stableford - Overall Winner: Caroline Speers (38 pts); Section A: Hazel Cunning (35 pts); Section B: Sheila Mudd (34 pts).

Eagle Bar & Grill – Singles Stableford: Overall Winner: Angela Graham (40 pts); Section A: Susan McCarroll (38 pts); Section B: Lorraine Clarke (38 pts).

Frances Martin Trophy (1) – Singles Stableford - Overall Winner: Julie Murray (33 pts); Section A: Caroline Speers (32 pts); Section B: Ciara Murray (31 pts)

Sally’s Floral Studio – Singles Strokeplay - Overall Winner: Dorothy Lattimore (nett 70); Section A: Deborah McCooke (nett71); Section B: Ciara Murray (nett70).

Frances Martin Trophy (2) – Singles Stableford - Overall Winner: Caroline Speers (35 pts); Section A: Kerry Dunlop (34 pts); Section B: Roisin Gillan (35 pts).

Smallcost Carpets – Singles Stableford - Overall Winner: Ann McGuckian (39 pts); Section A: Pauline Thom (36 pts); Section B: Roisin Gillan (37 pts). The Lady Captain and her committee have thank the sponsors for their continued support throughout the year.