Law calls the shots in David Marcus Memorial at Raceview

The David Marcus Memorial, sponsored by Smallcost Carpets, where David worked for many years, was won by Jonathan Law, with a total of 41 stableford points.

Sunday, 14th July 2013, 12:00 pm
David Small (second right) of Smallcost Carpets, is pictured with James McBride, Dylan Cole and Jack Lynn, taking part in the Smallcost Carpets sponsored competition at Ballymena Golf Club. INBT27-243AC

He had to depend, however, on a better second nine total from Sean McElroy.

Five-handicapper Jonathan’s first nine earned him 19 points, thanks to birdies at the second and seventh.

He scored his third two with a birdie at the 10th and went on to play the second nine in one under par for 22 points.

Second nett McElroy (14) scored 21 points on the way out and added a further 20, thanks to birdies at the 13th and 18th.

Third nett was Paul Shaw (21) who scored 40 points, and his second nine total of 19 could have been better but for dropping two shots on each of the last two holes.

Despie those two non-scores, he pipped fourth-placed Derek O’Kane - who had equal nines of 20 points - by one point.

Fifth-placed went to Sam Murray (21) with the best of the 39 point totals, thanks to a second nine total of 22 points which pushed Steven McCloy into sixth place after the seven-handicapper had played the front nine in level par gross for 21 points, while a birdie at the last proved rewarding.

Sean McGarry (5) won best gross after a level par round which included six birdies.


The Open Week has been kindly sponsored again by McBurney Transport and the week kicked off on Sunday with an open stroke competition won by Charlie Robinson (21) with a nett 60.

That gave him a three shot winning margin from five-handicapper Michael Smyth who had a level par 68 shots.

Third nett went to Blair Jamieson (9) with the best nett 66 which included an eagle three on the par five ninth.

Fourth nett was won by Joseph Kidd (25) while best gross went to John Robinson (1) with a gross 70.

The open stableford on Monday was won by Paul McAtamney who, off 24, scored 43 points and on a better second nine from Adam Heron (12).

Michael Smyth (4) was third nett with 41 points on a better last three hole score, while Gary Black (2) took best gross with a three under par 65.

The McBurney Transport open stableford on Wednesday saw Victor McFadden (15) top the results table with 42 points.

The next three winners - Glenn Millar (18), Kieran Killough (24) and Adam Barr (9) respectively - all scored 40 points with their second nine and last six totals the deciding factors.

Best gross came from Alex McCloy (scr) making a rare appearance at Raceview, with a round of one under par gross.



The open stableford on June 26 was won by John Robinson with 40 points.

Second place, two points adrift, was Stephen Campbell (12) while the best gross card came from David Smith (6) with a round of 74 shots.