John, Ashley and Claire wrap up individual darts titles

JOHN Elder, Ashley Rainey and Claire Marshall claimed the honours as the Ballymena, Harryville and District Darts League individual competitions were held on Friday night.

Monday, 24th May 2010, 9:09 am
Updated Monday, 24th May 2010, 11:00 am

Bowling Club's Elder won the Division One award, Rainey (Fairhill Bar) the second division competition and Marshall (Central Swifts) the ladies' prize.

Elsewhere, Geoff Wylie hit a stunning 12-dart leg as Bowling Club wrapped up the Gallaher Division One title by beating BT/PO Club 7-1 in a rearranged league game.

The men's individuals were played in the Fairhill Bar, Ahoghill, with 48 players lining up for the Division One competition and 64 toeing the oche for the second division event.


Results from the quarter-finals on each board were:

Board 1: Trevor Johnston bt John Rock, Richard Rainey bt Gary Scott, Rab Lynn bt Gabriel Kerr, John Elder bt Darren O’Neill. Semis - Johnston bt Rainey, Elder bt Lynn. Final of the Board - Elder bt Johnston to go into Finals.

Board 2: Tony Kerr bt Colin Reid, Billy Gay bye, Lex Gilmour bt Fred McDowell, Roy Gilchrist bt James Greer. Semis - Gay bt Kerr; Gilchrist bt Gilmour. Finals of the Board - Gay bt Gilchrist.

Board 3: Frank McDowell bt Matthew Browne, Gary Dempster Bye, Darnell McCrory bye, Andy Martin bt Davy McFall. Semis - Dempster bt McDowell, Martin bt McCrory. Final - Martin bt Dempster.

Board 4: Billy McDowell bt Paul Rock, Geoff Wylie bt Steven McIlroy, John Robinson bt Andy Smith & Geoff Matthews bt Sammy Greer. Semis - Geoff Wylie (15) bt Billy McDowell, Matthews bt Robinson. Final - Matthews bt Wylie.

Semi finals: Winner of B1 John Elder bt Andy Martin B3 3-2, Billy Gay winner of B2 was beaten by B4 winner Geoff Matthews.

Final: Elder bt Matthews 4-1.


Board 1: George Aiken bt Mark Price, Sam Johnston bt Shaun Hannaway, Ashley Rainey (18-20) 110 finish bt Gareth Lowry, Shaun Pedlow bt Willie Russell. Semis - Aiken bt Johnston, Rainey bt Pedlow. Final - Rainey bt Aiken.

Board 2: Lee Fleming bt Trevor McFall, Bobby McIlroy bt Jim Rainey, Davy McFall bt Ian Rainey , Davy Graham bt Morris McIlvenna. Semis - Fleming bt McIlroy, McFall bt Graham. Final - McFall bt Fleming.

Board 3: Ronnie Beverland bt George McDowell, Neil Marshall bt Andy Leckey, Darren Nelson bt Steven Maternaghan, Brian Hannaway bt Alan Mills. Semis - Marshall bt Beverland, Hannaway bt Nelson. Final - Hannaway (18) 152 finish bt Marshall.

Board 4: Jack Russell bt Stephen French, George Elder bt David Allen, Robert Beggs bt Joey Douglas, Jordon Barr bye. Semis - Elder bt Russell, Beggs bt Barr. Final - Beggs bt Elder.

Semi Finals: Winners of B1 Ashley Rainey bt Brian Hannaway B3 winner, Davy McFall B2 winner bt Robert Beggs B4 winner

Final: Rainey bt McFall.


Quarter-finals - Claire Marshall bt Gwen Henson, Donna Service bt Irene Lowry, Sandra Gilmore bt Anne McKeown & Melanie Thornton bt Annie Greer. Semi Finals - Claire Marshall bt Donna Service & Melanie Thornton bt Sandra Gilmore. Final - Claire Marshall bt Melanie Thornton 4-3.


Bowling Club 7, BT/PO Club 1: Bowling - Paul Rock (17) 2-0, Darnell McCrory 2-0, Geoff Wylie (12) 180 2-0, Ricky Dunlop 2-1, John Elder (18-16) 2-0, Davy Glenn 2-1, Davy Logan 2-0. BT/PO - Derek Campbell 2-0.



Bowling Club17161033

BT/PO Club17111523

Diamond Bar1792520

Clough Rangers17101621

Greenhills Bar1793521

Towers Tavern1784520

Social Club1763815

Knockeden Lodge17431011

Central Arms1721145



Fairhill Bar17143031

Ladysmith Colts17141229

Fountain Arrows17103423

Fountain Bar1778222

Minnesota Club1774618

Buffs Club1751814

Horse and Jockey1746714

Coach Bar1744912

Central Swifts1723127


The final round of league fixtures takes place this Friday, May 28, with the following games:

Gallaher Division One: Clough Rangers v Bowling Club; BT/PO Club v Greenhills Bar; Knockeden Lodge v Towers Tavern; Social Club v Central Arms. Bye - Diamond Bar.

Logan’s Removals Division Two: Fairhill Bar v Ladysmith Colts; Fountain Arrows v Horse & Jockey; Buffs Club v Fountain Bar; Central Swifts v Coach Bar. Bye – Minnesota Club.


Players needed for the weekend of June 4-6 as it is a 20,000 prize competition for Individuals, Pairs & Team events. The cost for the week-end only 150 all in, anyone interested please contact Geoff Wylie or Davy Wilson for more information


The Gary Owen Lodge Darts Competition is being held this Saturday, May 29, in the Fairhill bar (Ahoghill) 1st 64 players Prize 500.00 Guaranteed, Registration 1230pm start 1pm sharp 10.00 entry fee all payers Contact Geoff Wylie for more information.


Calling all darts fans especially those who support Ballymena United.

A darts competition is being held in the BUFC Social Club on Saturday 26th June with the proceeds going towards the Football Club’s funds. A prize fund of 1500 is on offer with the winner taking home 750.

The entry fee is 10.00 per player and further details can be obtained from Billy Montgomery on (02825685548) or Davy Wilson (07713336668).

A great day of darts is anticipated and all will be welcome. Sponsorship details will be announced in the coming weeks.