Marshall set for Ireland debut

YOUNG UN: Luke Marshall
YOUNG UN: Luke Marshall

BALLYMENA’s Luke Marshall is to make his Ireland debut having been selected for the Sunday’s Six Nations match against Scotland.

Coach Declan Kidney handed the former Ballymena Academy a starting place after a season of excellent performances for Ulster.

Marshall was a member of the Ireland team which crushed Fiji in a non-cap game during the November Tests.

Ireland: 15-Rob Kearney, 14-Craig Gilroy, 13-Brian O’Driscoll, 12-Luke Marshall, 11-Keith Earls, 10-Paddy Jackson, 9-Conor Murray, 8-Jamie Heaslip (captain), 7-Sean O’Brien, 6-Peter O’Mahony, 5-Donnacha Ryan, 4-Donncha O’Callaghan, 3-Mike Ross, 2-Rory Best, 1-Tom Court.

Replacements: 16-Sean Cronin, 17-David Kilcoyne, 18-Declan Fitzpatrick, 19-Devon Toner, 20-Iain Henderson, 21-Eoin Reddan, 22-Ronan O’Gara, 23-Luke Fitzgerald.