Another high-scoring event at Raceview

Gareth McCullough, John Montgomery, Nigel Douglas and Charlie Robinson prepare to tee off at Ballymena Golf Club. INBT 19-808H
Gareth McCullough, John Montgomery, Nigel Douglas and Charlie Robinson prepare to tee off at Ballymena Golf Club. INBT 19-808H

The Sean Healy Memorial stableford competition at Ballymena Golf Club again produced an abundance of points, with the winning total of 43 coming from Derek Smyth.

Having dropped three shots on the opening two holes, the 16-handicapper parred the third before two more bogeys came at the fourth and fifth but he finished his front nine with three pars and a birdie to be out in 22 points.

His back nine featured seven fours and two fives as he added another 21 points to his tally.

Second place went to Felix McQuillan (10) who looked to have one hand on the trophy with 42 points on his card approaching the final hole, only to fail to score at the 18th.

Earlier, he had record four pars, two bogeys and birdies at the sixth, seventh and ninth to be out in 24 while on the way back ,he had three pars, four bogeys and a birdie at 14 before that costly late slip.

Third nett was Adam Barr who produced 41 points from his five handicap. He was out in two under par gross after recording four birdies on the front nine for 22 points and he added a further 19 points as he completed his round in level par gross.

Cameron Horner (8) came fourth, only to lose out to Barr over the second nine holes.

He had set a blistering pace, playing the front nine in three under par gross, but his second nine was something of an anti-climax, although a birdie at the final hole was vital for him in securing fourth spot.

Steven Thompson (17) took fifth place with the best 40 point score, that despite a mediocre opening nine of 17 points which Steven corrected on the homeward stretch with six pars, two bogeys and a double bogey for 23 points.

Sixth prize was won by Denis Stewart who, with a shot on handicap at each hole, had 19 points from the front nine and 21 on the way home.

The best gross card came from Michael Smyth (4) who played the course in one under gross 67 shots.


The open stableford on the Wednesday was sponsored by Spar Frys Road and the overall winner was Philip McAllister (19) with a total of 39 points.

He won by a point from Adam Barr (6) who scored two over par gross on each nine holes.

Third nett prize went to 10-handicapper Gareth McCullough who scored 37 points, with 20 coming on the front nine.

The best gross card came from Mark Surgenor (6) who played the course in 75 shots.


The annual Wilson’s sponsored Open Teams Waltz was won by Kerry Rose McElroy, Anne McElroy and Angela McCooke.

The trio’s final total of 82 was enough to give them an eight points success ahead of runners-up Eileen Timoney, Elizabeth Anderson and Mary McFall.