Connolly’s hold two-point lead in pool league title run-in


Connolly’s remain in a strong position to reclaim the Ballymena Towers Pool League title as the championship reaches its run-in.

The DUnvale side hold a two point lead at the top of the table after beating Coach 5-1 last weejk.

Defending champions Inbetweeners collected full points but the third of the would-be title contenders, Fairhill Hustlers, were held to a draw by Towers Tavern.

Fairhill Hustlers 3, Towers Tavern 3: Drew Sloan put the Towers ahead with a 2-0 win over George McCullough and then Ritchie Irwin levelled the match score with a 2-1 come from behind win over Davy Millar. Shane Moody then restored the lead for the Towers with a 2-1 win over Glenn Mairs. Sean Brannigan hit back again for the Fairhill to make the match score 2-2 with a 2-1 win over David Calderwood. Dean Greer put the Towers in front yet again with a 2-1 win over Richard Campbell only for Rab Graham to snatch a draw for Fairhill with a 2-1 win over K.D.Crabbe.

Michelin Masters 3, Moat A 3: Jason McKay got the Moat off to a great start with a 2-0 win over Chris Penny. In the secocond game David Armstrong levelled the match with a win in straight frames over Ryan Stewart. Rick McMaster put Michelin ahead with a 2-1 win over Barry Weir and Alan Armstrong increased the match score to 3-1 for Michelin with a 2-0 win over Darren Campbell. Moat hit back with a brace of 2-1 wins through Alan Rainey and David Nicholl who defeated Brian Hanna and Jimmy Knowles to leave the match score tied.

Moat B 5, Fairhill Dreamers 1: The Moat got off to a great start in this match when Dean Robinson and Allister Law both had 2-0 victories against Allister Lowry and B. Lowry. Lewis Cahoon made the match 3-0 for the Moat with a 2-1 win over Barry Kernohan. Aaron Browne increased the match score for the Moat with a 2-0 win over Nigel McMaster. Justin Kilpatrick then got the Fairhill on the score board with a 2-0 win against Neil Weir. In the final game Eddie Maxwell had a 2-0 win.

Connolly’s 5, Coach Bar 1: Pat McAnally(jnr) put the champions elect ahead with a win in straight frames over Darren Gilmore and then Aidy Rouke levelled the match score with a 2-1 win over Dee Irwin .Pat McAnally(snr) then had a 2-1 win over Davy Carlisle to put Connolly’s ahead. The next three games were all won by 2-0 scorelines for Connolly’s through Alan Davidson, John McAllister and Don McKeown who defeated Frazer Young, Chris Gordon and Robert Artt. The match between the Inbetweeners and Social Club ended in a 6-0 win for the Inbetweeners but no score card was returned .

A league meeting will take place on Wednesday 13th April at 8pm at Michelin Clu. All teams to attend and numbers needed for Annual dinner. All trophies from last year to be returned to League Treasurer Gary Richardson.