Darragh ends race season on winning note

Alan Darragh from Cullybackey won 1st MAC from Skibbereen.
Alan Darragh from Cullybackey won 1st MAC from Skibbereen.

The final race of the year was the INFC Skibbereen just short of 3,000 birds from lofts across Ireland were released at 8.45am on September 19.

The result was good enough but some birds as usual from County Cork regardless of conditions were missing on the day.

Locally Alan Darragh from Cullybackey had the early arrival five minutes clear around 13.35hrs to record velocity 1547 for the 259 miles to take 1st MAC, 23rd North Sect & 27th Open INFC.

Bertie Blair from Ballymena & District was next best and topped the club yet again on velocity 1536, Bertie has had a best ever young bird season and Alan Darragh made the result in all six INFC races, a super achievement.

Mid Antrim Combined Skibbereen YB Nat – A Darragh Cullybackey 1547, Blair & Rankin Ballymena 1536, K Wilkinson & Son New Antrim Amal 1521, W & J Smyth Ballymena 1497, A Darragh 1480, A Darragh 1478, D Dixon Rasharkin 1460, K Wilkinson & Son 1458.

Mid Antrim Club Results

Cullybackey – A Darragh 1547, 1480, 1478.

Ballymena & District – Blair & Rankin 1536, W & J Smyth 1497, George Bell, Blair & Rankin, George Bell, Blair & Rankin.

New Antrim Amalgamated – K Wilkinson & Son 1521, 1458.


MAC Awards for 2015 – NIPA Secretary George McDowell as usual is one of the first to issue a list of the seasons awards, presentation will take place at the various club award nights.

W & J Smyth of Ballymena & District win Old Bird Inland Average vel 1419, Old Bird Average vel 1161, Eagleson Memorial Cup best average Talbenny, Sennen Cove Classic , Bude and Penzance vel 1260, and finally Combine Average vel 945. Alan Darragh from Cullybackey won Cross Channel Ave vel 1244, Young Bird Ave vel 1585, Young Bird of the Year GB15C-04320 scored 56 Points and Leslie Mairs OB Fancier of the Year Cup collecting 1083 Points.

Randalstown featured with the William McIlhagga Memorial Cup for the best bird from St Malo in France. Hugh Boyd recorded his bird at 16.35hrs flying 467 miles for velocity 1430 finishing 1st MAC, 1st Sect & 3rd Open NIPA 434/1477 a fantastic result and Stewart Bros won the New North Cup vel 1520, best average Bude & Talbenny YB Nat.

Steele & McNeill of Rasharkin & District won the T Shanks & Son Cup for Champion Old Bird. In the same club Danny Dixon won the Champions League for the second year in succession, and the first loft to win this highly prized award for the second time.

The INFC Average Cup was won by Reid Bros & McCloy of Cullybackey vel 1117 and finally the Club Points Shield. Old Bird was won by Cullybackey HPS 102 Points and Young Bird was won by Rasharkin & District 63 Points.