Derek elected as new club chairman at Eaton Park

editorial image

Ballymena Rugby Club’s Annual General Meeting took place in the clubhouse last Thursday evening, when the new Club Officers and Directors were elected for the 2015/2016 season.

Club President, Guy McCullough, was unanimously elected for his third term in office and called upon Tom Wiggins, the outgoing Chairman, to nominate his successor.

Tom spoke of the strong position that the Rugby in the club is now in and expressed his optimism for the incoming season, given the strength of the existing squad and the recruitment of a number of high quality players.

He then nominated Derek Montgomery, the 2014/2015 Vice Chairman, as his successor as Chairman and he was elected unopposed.

Derek has been involved with the 2nd XV for a number of years, but over the last two year has been a highly successful Director of Sponsorship and Marketing, having brought in new sponsors and established excellent relationships with existing sponsors.

His Vice Chairman will be Peter Mackenzie, who has held the position of Director of Rugby for the past two seasons, a role which he will continue to fill next season as well.

Tom Wiggins takes over from Keith Lamont as Honorary Secretary and Gareth Fisher remains as Assistant Honorary Secretary.

Jack Gibson and Bill Wallace remain in their current roles as Directors of Grounds and Property and Communications, while three new Directors were elected at the meeting.

Jordan Foster, currently a 1st XV player, will look after Functions, Alastair Frazer will take over form Derek Montgomery in the Sponsorship and Marketing role and Glen Boyd will look after Community Rugby.

Derek Montgomery expressed his confidence in the new team and wished them every success in the months that lie ahead.