Door opens for Stewart to claim stableford win at Galgorm Castle

On the first tee at Galgorm Castle Golf Club were David Sterling, Cecil McAleese, David McAleese and David Sterling (jr). INBT 16-902H
On the first tee at Galgorm Castle Golf Club were David Sterling, Cecil McAleese, David McAleese and David Sterling (jr). INBT 16-902H

Drew Stewart (23) and Kevin McCavera (10) were one point ahead of David Bamford (10) at the turn in the Apeer Door Sets Stableford at Galgorm.

Mark Dunlop (5), Paul Houston (5) and Colin Steele (5) were two, three and four points respectively behind the leading pair.

Through thirteen McCavera was one point ahead of Stewart with Bamford another point away. Dunlop and Houston were another point behind Bamford with Steele trailing by another three points.

Up the Grove and McCavera was joined by Stewart followed by Bamford two points behind.

In a close finish Stewart came home bogey, double bogey for Overall victory by one point from McCavera (double bogey, bogey) and Bamford (par, bogey) and with a better back nine the Overall Runner-up place went to Bamford.

McCavera won Division 1 by two points from Dunlop who finished with two pars. Steele and Houston finished strongly and third place went to Steele (par, birdie) with a better back nine from Houston (par, birdie). Michael Dallat (2) won the Gross Prize.

In Division 2 at halfway Paul Reid (12), Trevor Todd (15) and Adrian Atkinson (12) were vying for the lead a point ahead of Rod Lennox (12) and Paul McNeilly (15) with Thomas McNeill (12) another point behind.

Three points further adrift came Andrew Moore (15).

Reid with a bogey, par finish claimed first place a point ahead of McNeill (double bogey, birdie) in second place. Third place went to Atkinson who finished bogey, par). Todd ran into bogey troubgle over the closing two holes and was joined by McNeilly (double bogey, bogey), Rod Lennox (par, bogey).

Entering the back nine in Division 3 Trevor Fletcher (19) held a three point advantage over Kevin Duffin (19) with Jamie Surgeoner (16) and Keith Dinsmore (18) another point behind.

A ‘ding’ in the Lowlands did not deter Fletcher and a bogey at the last saw him home to win by two points from Dinsmore (bogey, bogey), Surgeoner (bogey, par) and an improving Duffin (two pars) who finished together. Second place went to Surgeoner with a better back six with Dinsmore in third place with a better back nine.

Cyril Reid (28) who reached the turn in six under par held a two point advantage over Raymond McDyer (24) in Division 4 but Cyril hit bogey trouble and McDyer took advantage to move ahead.

McDyer increased his lead to four points over the closing two holes when he finished bogey, par.

Lynn (two bogeys) and Graham (double bogey, bogey) finished together with Ivan Graham taking second place and Lynn taking the Seniors Prize. Manson (par, double bogey) and Reid (double bogey, bogey) finished together and with a better back nine Manson finished in third place.

Twos were recorded by – Paul Houston, L.Foster, S.Kennedy, D.A.McAleese, M.Dallat, K.McCavera, A.McNeill, G.Watt, T.Carroll, N.McAlynn, G.Allen, R.Topping, D.McAleese and R.Speers.