Drifters duo stroll to Simpson Pairs win


The Ballymena, Harryville and District Darts League held the annual Simpson Pairs competitions on Friday night.

Thank you to all who took part; and huge thanks to The Coach Bar, Ballymena for the use of their premises.


Board 1s’ final saw Leonard McKeegan Jnr and Alistair Agnew defeated by Andy Martin and last years winner Geoffrey Matthews. On Board 2, John Elder and Geoff Wylie defeated Davy Martin and Ashley Rainey in a thrilling match. Board 3 witnessed John Balmer and Derek Campbell beaten by Jarlath McGarry and Paddy Coyles. Board 4 saw Gabe Kerr and Dean Kerr defeating David Neill and Rodney Thompson.

The semi-finals kept team mates together, with an all Drifters and Greenhills matches. The first semi saw John Elder and Geoff Wylie defeat Andy Martin and Geoffrey Matthews 3-0 to reach the final and end Matthews 2 year hold on the trophy. The other semi-final was the all Greenhills affair, with Jarlath McGarry and Paddy Coyles triumphing 3-1 over Gabe Kerr and Dean Kerr.

An exciting an entertaining final followed, with the star performer being Geoff “Coyote” Wylie as he and John strolled to a 4-0 victory.


Final of Board 1 saw Paul Henson and Darren Hillis beat Rodney McCartney and Arthur Kenny. On Board 2, Alistair Craig and Alistair Craig (Jnr) defeat Sandra Gilmore and Gwen Henson. Board 3 saw Mervyn Gage and Jimmy Finlay defeat David McFall and Neil Marshall. Board 4 saw Colin McCaughern and Shane Hillis defeat Annie Greer and Dierdre Hamill. Semi-final 1 witnessed Paul Henson and Darren Hillis overcome Alistair Craig and Alistair Craig (Jnr) 2-0. In semi-final 2, an all Ballee I final was created with Colin McCaughern and Shane Hillis beat Gage and Finlay. In the final, Colin and Shane clicked at important stages to win 3-1.