Eileen successfully defends Road Club’s ladies’ time trial all-rounder title

editorial image

Eileen Burns from Rossburn Manor in Kells has won the Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – ladies’ time trial best all-rounder competition for the 2014 season.

For Eileen this was a successful defence of the title which she won in 2013, when at her first attempt she set a new record average speed of 25.225mph.

This time around she has gone even faster with an all-time record average of 26.836mph.

Eileen’s best 5 miles time was 10 minutes 58 seconds (11.43 in 2013) which was recorded on 5th August at Woodgreen, and 22 minutes 48 seconds (24.09 in 2013) clocked three weeks later, on 27th August, also at Woodgreen.

2012 ladies champion Emma Smyth finished second with times of 11 minutes 48 seconds for 5 miles and 24.42 for the 10. This was an average of 24.858mph. Emma’s performance was faster than when she won in 2012 and would have won this contest many times in the past.

Newcomer Laura Blair was third with times of 12 minutes 08 seconds for the five miles distance and 25.18 (10) Laura’s average was 24.220 mph.

The ladies racing league also went to Eileen Burns who amassed 101 points in the Northstone sponsored club race series.

Emma Smyth was second with 61 points and Laura Blair third with 58. (4) Claire Gillespie 31 points (5) Maxine Surgenor 3 points.

Eileen had a great season which saw her win four Ulster time trial championships at 10, 25, 50 and 100 miles distances.

The girls will all receive their awards at next month’s prize presentation dinner in Leighinmohr House Hotel on Friday 21st November.


Fifty three cyclists took part in Saturday’s “Fun Tour” from Rex Bonar house.

This was ride eight in the thirteen week series and represented the first opportunity for those with full attendance to earn their silver medals.

The mayor, Audrey Wells, was present to set the cyclists on their way and they were to enjoy another dry, although windy, ride.

The touring section completed a 38 miles ride to Gracehill, Lisnafillan, Ahoghill, Garvaghy, Portglenone, Gortgole and Kilrea.

They then visited Portna lock on the river Bann which was in full flow following lots of rain earlier in the week.

The homeward trip was along Moneygran road to Portglenone and then up Tully.

John Maxwell’s “B” group run went via Magheralane Road to Randalstown, Toomebridge and Ballyronan.

Next it was on to The Loup, Magherafelt, Curran, Gulladuff, Clady, Portglenone and Ahoghill for a total of 53 miles at 17.3MPH.

The successful silver medallists on Saturday were:

Rex Bonar, John and Sean Elliott, Iris Grant, Sammy Kerr, Jackie Knowles, John Maxwell, Pius McKernan, Martin Ruddy, Maxine Surgenor, Richard Wilson and Alastair Wylie.

Five riders completed their fifth tour for their bronze medals. They were:

Hall Booth, Lewis McKee, Millar Montgomery Ryan Shaw and Peter Simpson.

The Mayor will host a presentation in the Town Hall at the conclusion of the series.