Hayes banks on success in Galgorm Castle stableford competition

Alastair Andrews, John Davidson, David Martin and Graham Simms in Saturday's competition at Galgorm Castle Golf Club. INBT 25-182CS
Alastair Andrews, John Davidson, David Martin and Graham Simms in Saturday's competition at Galgorm Castle Golf Club. INBT 25-182CS

At halfway in the Bank of Ireland sponsored Stableford at Galgorm Castle, Donald Nesbitt (20) was one point ahead of Jordan Millar (8).

They were followed by Thomas McNeill (10) and David A.McAleese (8) a further two points behind.

Brian McFall jnr. (8), George Watt (10) and Mark Hayes were another one, three and four points respectively behind. Through the Maple Nesbitt was two points ahead of McNeill with Watt and McAleese in close attendance another point behind.

A new leader emerged up the Grove with McNeill leading by one point from Nesbitt who was a point ahead of McFall jnr, Watt and McAleese. Hayes, a further point down was making a strong bid for victory with a run of par, par, eagle. Nesbitt finished double bogey, birdie and was joined by Hayes who continued his good run with a par, birdie finish and with a better back nine Hayes was the Overall Winner with D.Nesbitt the Overall Runner-Up. A point behind came McNeill (two bogeys) and McFall jnr (bogey, birdie) and with a better back nine McFall jnr. won Division 1 with second place going to McNeill. Third place went to Watt with a better back nine.

James McAuley (14) was leading Division 2 after the front nine. A point behind came Jonathan McKeown (11) and Luis Surgenor (12) with Chris Cooke (13) a further two points down. Through thirteen McKeown and Cooke were the new leaders a point ahead of McAuley. In an exciting finish McKeown who was leading with one to play lost his chance of winning when he ‘dinged’ eighteen. McAuley took advantage of this mishap and with a double bogey, birdie finish won by one point from Cooke (two bogeys) with McKeown third.

After the outward half in Division 3, David Currie (18) was leading by a point from Michael Barr (19) with Alan Proctor (17) and John McFarland (19) another point behind. Through the Maple and Barr was the new leader by a point from Currie with Proctor and McFarland another point behind. Positions changed through the Grove when Barr and Currie failed to score. Proctor parred 15 and 16. Proctor (bogey, double bogey) just held on over the closing two holes to win by one point. With a better back nine second place went to McFarland and third place to Barr.

In Division 4 Alan Currie (24) was leading by two points from Tony Quinn (20) entering the back nine. Robin Deane (21) was a further two points behind. Another three points down came Andrew McKibben (23) with John Montgomery (21) two further points away. Approaching the Maple Collie (‘ding’ at twelve) was still leading but only one point from Deane. Through the Grove Deane (‘ding’ at fourteen) and Quinn (‘ding’ at fourteen) had taken over to lead by one point from Collie (‘ding’ at fourteen). Montgomery (‘ding’ at Beechers) and McKibben were three and five points respectively further behind. In a close finish Deane with two bogeys won by one point from Quinn (bogey, double bogey) with third place going to Collie. The Gross was won by J.J.McAnally (5) and Ian Stewart (20) won the Seniors.