Inbetweeners claim first pool league championship


Inbetweeners clinched their first Ballymena Towers Pool League title in some style.

The Minnesota Snooker Club-based side wrapped up their maiden triumph by defeating outgoing champions Michelin Masters 4-2.

With the title within touching distance, the league leaders showed no signs of nerves early on, with Gareth Rowe beating Jimmy Knowles by a 2-0 scoreline.

David Armstrong levelled the match score with a win in straight frames over Lee Wright before Masters took the lead when Alan Armstrong had a 2-1 win over Gary Ormandy.

This set back seemed to spur the Inbetweeners on and in the next game Paul Francey had a 2-0 win over Brian Hanna to level the match score.

In the fifth game Brian Hannaway recorded a win in straight frames over Henry Eagleson which included an eight-ball clearance in the opening frame.

Phil Houston’s straight frames win over Rick McMaster clinched the victory which secured the title for Inbetweeners.

POM - Brian Hannaway.

There was one other match in the top half of the table, with Connolly’s ‘A’ defeating Diamond Dazzlers 4-2.

Don McKeown put Connolly’s ahead with a hard fought 2-1 win over Malcolm Graffin, after losing the first frame and Dean Dunlop doubled the Dunvale side’s lead with a straight frames win over Brendan O’Mullan.

Diamond pulled one back through Robert Artt but wins from Pat McAnally (Snr) and Gary Clarke took Connolly’s into an unassailable 4-1 lead, before Ian Boal grabbed a second point for Dazzlers. POM - Gary Clarke.

* All trophies to be returned to league treasurer Gary Richardson as soon as possible.