IRFU honour for local rugby stalwart Ian

Ian McIlrath.
Ian McIlrath.

Ballymena Rugby Club stalwart Ian McIlrath is to add another notable achievement to his rugby CV.

The Irish Rugby Football Union has announced that Ian will become Chairman of the IRFU Rugby Committee, with Declan Madden becoming Chairman of the IRFU Management Committee, from July 17, 2015

Ian, who will succeed Stephen Hilditch, has been a member of the IRFU Union Committee since 2008.

He has worked on the IRFU’s Management and Rugby Committees, chaired a number of IRFU Sub-Committees and working parties, and is a trustee of the IRFU Charitable Trust.

He is a former Ireland international - capped five times between 1976 and 1977 - and also captained Ballymena RFC.

Having served as Chairman of Rugby Development for Ballymena, Ian became Chairman of the Eaton Park club in 1987 before taking up the position of Club President from 2000-2008.

He has been a club representative on the IRFU Ulster Branch since 2000.

Ian was Principal of Ballymena Academy Preparatory Department and Coach of the 1st XV, alongside Barry Coen, before being appointed Principal of Buick Memorial Primary School, Cullybackey.

Having retired from that post, he is currently a member of Ballymena Academy’s Board of Governors.