Jackson treads carefully to win Michelin-sponsored event at Galgorm

Lyle Foster, Eric Boyce, Kieran Chappell and Ralf Clarke who played in the Michelin Stableford competition at Galgorm Castle Golf Club on Saturday. INBT 38-174CS
Lyle Foster, Eric Boyce, Kieran Chappell and Ralf Clarke who played in the Michelin Stableford competition at Galgorm Castle Golf Club on Saturday. INBT 38-174CS

Galgorm Castle Golf Club was the venue for the Michelin Tyre Plc sponsored Stableford and after the front nine Jackson Minford (18) was leading from Ryan Addley (8) by the narrowest of margins – one point.

George Small (9) was a further point behind. He was followed by Patrick Coleman (8), Jonathan McNeill (2) and Michael Alexander (7) another point behind. Two and three points further back came James McAuley (13) and David Murray (6) respectively.

Minford still held a one point advantage through thirteen over Addley but he was joined by McNeill, Alexander and McAuley. Small and Coleman were close on their heels another point down. Murray was three further points adrift at this stage. Approaching the eighteenth tee Coleman who had been playing steadily throughout joined Minford at the front, a point ahead of McAuley and two points ahead of McNeill and Addley who in turn were one point ahead of Murray, Alexander and Small.

It looked like an exciting last hole was in prospect but it turned out to be a damp squib.

A par from M inford was sufficient to see him home to win Overall by two points from Coleman (bogey) and McAuley (par) who finished together and the Overall Runner-up was James McAuley with a better back nine. Coleman won Division 1 with Murray (birdie) and McNeill (par) finishing level and with a better back nine Murray finished in second place. McNeill won the Gross prize.

There was however an exciting finish for third place with Addley (bogey) being joined by Small (par) and Alexander (par) a point behind Murray and with a better back nine third place went to Alexander.

In Division 2 Robert Graham (15) took an early lead and continued to lead throughout and finished two points ahead of Malcolm McIlroy (13) and Neil Fitzsimmons (15) who finished together and with a better back three McIlroy took second place.

At the turn in Division 3 Brian Heggarty was a point ahead of Joe Barr (16) with Terence Martin (17) and Peter Connon (17) another point behind. Jim Millar (19) was a further point down. Through thirteen Heggarty had opened up a two point gap with Millar second a point ahead of Barr, Martin and Connon. A ‘ding’ at the Devils Elbow by Heggarty and a par from Millar allowed the latter to take a one point lead and through sixteen Millar was one point ahead of Heggarty and Connon. Barr and Martin were another one and two points respectively further behind. Millar finished double bogey, bogey but Heggarty with a bogey, par finish came home to take Division 3 by one point. Millar won the Seniors leaving Martin (bogey,par), Connon (par, ‘ding) and Barr (double bogey, par) to battle for the minor placings another point behind.

Martin with a better back six took second place and third place went to Connon with a better back nine.

In Division 4 after the front nine Seamus Laverty was three points ahead of Colin Thompson (24) who in turn was another three points clear of Raymond Lynn (21) and Ronnie Gilchrist (21). After a ‘ding’ at the Fort Laverty was joined by Thompson who registered a par.

The pair were level through thirteen, a point ahead of Gilchrist and three points clear of Lynn. With two to play Gilchrist moved into a two point lead after a ‘ding’ by Thompson at Beechers. Lynn who was waiting for the front runners to slip joined Thompson. Laverty fell back another point after ‘dings’ at Beechers and the Grove. Gilchrist opened the door for the chasing group when he ran into serious bogey trouble and only managed one point over the closing two holes.

Thompson (triple bogey, bogey) and Laverty (par, double bogey) joined Gilchrist at the finish but Lynn gained most advantage with two bogeys to win by one point. Gilchrist with a better back nine took second place with Thompson (better back nine) third.