Norman winner in Galgorm event

Galgorm Castle Golf Club.
Galgorm Castle Golf Club.

The Winter League and Sweep sponsored by McAllister Butchers, Broughshane continued at Galgorm Castle Golf Club.

Adrian Atkinson (5) led Paul Hughes (5) and Norman Reid (5) at one point intervals respectively through The Maple in Division 1. He increased his lead to three points up the Grove from Hughes. Atkinson was ahead by two points with one to play but hit bogey trouble at the last and failed to score allowing Hughes with a par to draw level. However a strong finish (par, birdie) by Reid saw him home to win by one point. Hughes with a better back three finished second.

What a finish to Division 2 with four players finishing level vying for first place. Trevor Dawson (7) was one point ahead of Robert Beggs (7) and Des Cousley (7) after four with Seamus Laverty (7) another point behind. With two holes to play Dawson was joined by Cousley in the lead by two points from Beggs and Laverty. In an exciting ending Dawson (two bogeys),Cousley (two bogeys), Beggs (two pars) and Laverty (birdie, bogey) were level and with a better back three Laverty took first place with Beggs (better back six) in second.

Division 3 also had a very close finish for second place with five players involved. After the opening four holes Andrew McKibben (9). Terence Martin (8) and William Kennedy (9) were vying for the lead a point ahead of Philip Magill (8) and William Crawford (8) with Ian Stewart (9) another point behind. McKibben moved ahead over the closing two holes to win comfortably by three points with the remaining quintet – Martin (two bogeys), Kennedy (two bogeys), Magill (bogey, par), Crawford (bogey, par) and a late effort from Stewart (two pars) – all finishing together. Stewart’s late run proved successful as he took second place with a better back six.

In Division 4 Mervyn Lamont (11) was leading Hugh Mussen (11) by one point through four. James Campbell (11), Andrew McFarlane (13), Timothy Roddy (11), Colin Thompson (11) and Jack Douglas (10) were another point behind. Trevor Galloway (11) and George Irwin (14) were another one and two points respectively further away. With two holes left to play McFarlane had taken over at the front two points ahead of Campbell and Douglas Campbell finished with two pars to win by two points from McFarlane who lost his chance of winning when he ‘dinged’ eighteen.

Twos were recorded by – A Atkinson, N Candlish, S McCormick, B Heggarty, M McIlroy, G Robinson, T Martin, H McCaughan and A McFarlane.


Keith Dinsmore won the front nine section by one point from Jonathan McCart (6), while Campbell McAnally and Ivan Alexander finished together another point away.