Prize time for Broughshane HPS members after another busy year

It was celebration time for the members of Broughshane & District HPS recently as they looked back on the successes of the past year.

The annual dinner and presentation of prizes was held as usual in the Michelin Athletic Club just outside the village, new Secretary Alister Purvis had everything in hand.

The officials and prize winners of Broughshane & Dist at the annual prize night.

The officials and prize winners of Broughshane & Dist at the annual prize night.

Although the club is a lot smaller than years gone by, they are still well served by many former members.

Race winners for the season included – Old Birds: Tullamore Mrs M Smyth, Roscrea (1) & Roscrea (2) J & N Simpson, Clonmel Purvis & George Connolly and then 6 in a row for the top racers John & Norman Simpson winning Mallow, Rosscarbery OB Inl Nat, Roscrea Comeback, Bude and Rosscarbery Yearling Cocks Nat when the J & N Simpson team won 1st MAC on velocity 1585.

Purvis & Connolly won the Rosscarbery Yearling Hens Nat and then from Mallow (2) they scored 1st MAC doing velocity 1178.

J & N Simpson won Clonmel (2) and the hard Truro, and finally Mrs Smyth had the winner in Roscrea (4) another comeback finishing 3rd MAC on velocity 1264. The members had no birds in either Penzance or St Malo.

Young Birds: Mullingar John Getty, Tullamore (1) Mrs Smyth, Tullamore (2) the first mass lib won by J & N Simpson and they also won Roscrea, Clonmel, Fermoy, Talbenny Nat and Fermoy (2). Davy Houston & Son won Roscrea Comeback and Rosscarbery Nat.

Racing with the INFC no birds were recorded in the YB Penzance and no birds were sent to Skibbereen.

In old birds Purvis & Sonnolly were best in the Skibbereen Old Bird Nat, J & N Simpson won the Yearling Nat and no birds were timed in the hard Kings Cup from St Allouestre.

The Highest Prize-winner was the loft of J & N Simpson, they also won the Best Yearling Bude, Lowest Winning Velocity 812, Old Bird Inland Average and the W Workman Memorial Plinth for Bird of the Year.

Mrs M Smyth won the Gold Ring Race and the Breeder/Buyer Race.

Marc Neilly was best Novice.

The OBA, Cross Channel Ave and Young Bird Average were not awarded.


The AGM for Ballymena & District will take place in the local clubrooms at Fountain Place on Monday 9th February at 8.00pm.

Resolutions for the agenda must be with the Secretary Willie Reynolds by Saturday 31st January. Members are also asked to remember any resignations prior to the AGM.


RPRA (Irish Region) annual meeting has been arranged for Saturday 7th February in the Templeton Hotel, Templepatrick at 1.00pm.

Please note a change of venue.


Mid Antrim Combine meeting has been arranged for the Harryville HPS on Wednesday 18th March at 8.00pm.

Two Delegates from each member club should attend in order to vote on proposals.


INFC have a Committee Meeting arranged for the Lisburn & Dist Clubrooms on Tuesday 20th January.

One resolution has been put forward for the AGM. P & C Swindell will propose that Rule 20: That entry to all races not to exceed 20 birds be replaced with – New Rule 20: No limit on entry to Kings Cup OB Nat and Friendship Nat, all other races OB & YB Inland, Yearling Nat, YB Channel Nat to have a 20 Bird entry limit.

Please note the AGM will be held on Saturday 28th February.


NIPA will be setting the AGM Agenda shortly, meeting to be held as previously published.

The meeting is in Glenavy Protestant Hall on Saturday 14 February (2pm).