Road Club preparing for annual prize night

Ballymena Road Club.
Ballymena Road Club.

Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – will hold its annual prize presentation dinner and dance next Friday evening 27st November at Eaton Park from 7.30pm.

This is the highlight of the club’s social season and represents an opportunity, not only to present the perpetual trophies and honour their recipients, but also to acknowledge the support and assistance, both financial and in kind, of all the club’s generous backers.

This year’s guest of honour is former professional Philip Lavery.

Club Chairman Paul Murdoch says “Tickets £22.50 each are available from Treasurer Geoff Allen or at the club rooms on Monday evenings. It is advisable to purchase tickets this week as there are a limited number available.

“Anyone who hasn’t bought a ticket must do so by Wednesday at the latest so that the final numbers may be confirmed with the caterers.” The guest of Honour is Philip Lavery.

Philip (25) is a Dubliner and a top racing cyclist who most recently rode for the Synergy Baku team. Lavery won the 2010 Tour of the North and won a bronze medal at the 2010 Commonwealth Games in India, as part of the Northern Ireland team pursuit squad. During the summer of 2013 Lavery joined the Cofidis team, as a stagiaire, (ie an amateur rider who is taken on by a professional team during the season in order to gain experience riding pro races) after taking several victories in French domestic racing.

We also plan to hold a raffle at the dinner which Mary Mark has agreed to organise. So any raffle items should go to Mary or be brought on the night. Anyone who still hasn’t handed back their perpetual trophies should do so urgently” added Paul.

All the winners.

This season’s club race series was sponsored by Northstone, which was the company’s 33rd season backing the club.

The trophy winners of the club’s road races, time trials and hill climb have been widely reported in earlier bulletins but one award still has to be announced.

This final trophy in the club’s collection is the “Friendship cup” which is awarded each season to the club member who is deemed to have made the best non-competitive effort during the year.