Show season in full swing for Mid-Antrim Combine clubs

editorial image
Share this article

The pigeon show season in Mid-Antrim continued in the past week with shows at a number of local clubs.

Ballymena & District HPS: Old Cocks T/W (65 Birds) – 1st & Special W & N Gilbert, 2nd & Commended G & A Eagleson, 3rd Russell Bros, 4th W & N Gilbert, Reserve & VHC B Herbison, HC M/M M Sempey. Old Hens T/W (51 Birds) – 1st, 3rd, 4th, Reserve, VHC & Commended W & N Gilbert, 2nd & HC Russell Bros. Judges – Murphy & Percy (Randalstown). Raffle was won by Sam Murphy.

For the second week at Ballymena the show was dominated by one loft, W & N Gilbert had 1st in both classes and the Best in Show Special.

Many thanks to the judges who travelled in from Randalstown, the Murphy & Percy team enjoyed a super young bird season. Monday 17th Nov – Old Cocks & Old Hens Handled.


Old Cocks T/W – 1st & 4th T McFall, 2nd & Reserve Gibson & Dickey, 3rd Blair & Rankin, VHC J & J Greer, HC A Darragh, Commended Russell Bros. Old Hens T/W – N & S Anderson, 2nd Russell Bros, 3rd Cochrane Bros, 4th A Darragh, Reserve T McFall, VHC B Herbison, HC Blair & Rankin, Commended Gibson & Dickey. Best in Show T McFall. Judges Albert & Tom Young (Cullybackey).

The second week for Cullybackey had T McFall 1st in the Old Cocks T/W taking Best in Show while N & S Anderson for the local club had the Red Card in the Old Hen T/W Class. Next Week – Pairs T/W Old Bird & Young Bird.


The annual NIPA Ladies Night will be held in the Templeton Hotel in Templepatrick on Friday 14th November with tickets available from Fred Russell Tel: (028) 92 693913. All cups and trophies need returned to INFC immediately, to Ronnie Johnston who will retire from dinner duties this year, Tom Marshall or Trevor Topping. Tickets price at £28 is unchanged from last year available from the Secretary Trevor Topping or Ronnie, and rooms are available at the hotel for over-night stay. Venue again is the Stormont Hotel in Belfast, on Friday 28th November for the Irish Nat FC Night of the Year.