Sloan regains grip on Tommy Nelson memorial trophy

Drew Sloan is the Ballymena Towers Pool League's Tommy Nelson Memorial champion once again.
Drew Sloan is the Ballymena Towers Pool League's Tommy Nelson Memorial champion once again.

Drew Sloan regained the Ballymena Towers Pool League’s Tommy Nelson Memorial trophy last week.

After a year’s absence, Northern Ireland interational Sloan won the competition yet again, beating Brian Hanna in the final.

Results from the competiton are:

Preliminary round: Drew Sloan 3, Richard Campbell 1; Joey Davidson 0, Glenn Mairs 3; Gareth Rowe 1, David Armstrong 3; Alan Davidson 1, Brian Hanna 3; Colin Taylor 0, Jason Ogilby 3.

Round one: Phil Houston 3, Justin Kilpatrick 1; Donald Alexander 0, Drew Sloan 3; Robert Artt 1, Dee Irwin 3; KD Crabbe 3, Steven Magill 0; Alan Rainey 3, Glenn Mairs 2; Brian Hanna 3, Jason Ogilby; Ritchie Irwin 3, Steven Anderson; Chris Gordon 0, David Armstong 3.

Quarter-final: Houston 1, Sloan 3; Irwin 2, Crabbe 3; Rainey 2, Hanna 3; Irwin 0, Armstrong 3.

Semi-finals: Sloan 3, Crabbe 2; Hanna 3, Armstrong 0.

Final: Sloan 4, Hanna 2.


Fairhill Hustlers 1, The Inbetweeners 5: Title-chasing Inbetweeners opened up a 4-0 lead through Gary Ormandy, Lee Wright, Phil Houston - who had an eight-ball clearance - and Ryan Logan. Hustlers pulled one back through Robert Graham but Inbetweeners had the final say through Paul Francey. POM - Robert Graham.

The Coach 2, Towers Tavern 4: The opening four games were shared with wins for the home side from Cliffy Allison and David Carlisle, while James Millar and Drew Sloan won for Towers. The Ballee side eased to victory in the closing games with straight frames wins for KD Crabbe and Shane Moody. POM - KD Crabbe.

Michelin Masters 5, Mighty Moat 1: Michelin recovered from the setback of David Nicholl’s win for Moat in the opening match to win the next five games. David Armstrong and Brian Hanna each recorded eight-ball clearances while Michelin’s other winners were Rick McMaster, Alan Armstrong and Chris Penney. POM - David Armstrong.

Social Club 2, Fairhill Dreamers 3: This match was played over five games as neither side had a sixth player. Ian Dewar, Sean Brannigan and Linzi McClelland grabbed the points for Dreamers, while Eddie Fleck and Albert McBride grabbed Social Club’s points. POM - Linzi McClelland.

Diamond Dazzlers 6, Diamond Duffers 0: The Portglenone ‘derby’ was a one-sided affair as Dazzlers dropped just one frame. Their winners were Malcolm Graffin, Brendan O’Mullan, Chris Gordon, Adrian Rourke, Robert Artt and Ian Boal. POM - Chris Gordon.

Diamond Duffers 0, Mighty Moat 6: In a rearranged tie, Duffers suffered another whitewash. Moat winners were Steven Magill. Daniel Magill, Michael Thompson, David Nicholl, Colin Taylor and a walkover. POM - Michael Thompson.