Spinning Mill edge ever closer towards Division Two title

BT/PO beat Fountain Arrows on Friday night. INBT03-218AC
BT/PO beat Fountain Arrows on Friday night. INBT03-218AC

Spinning Mill moved a step closer to winning the Ballymena, Harryville & District Darts League Division Two title at the weekend.

The Broughshane Street side strengthened their credential with victory at Cosy Corner.

The best invidual performance in Friday night’s games was a 14-dart leg from John Greer, followed by: 16 Leonard McKeegan (Snr), 17s Ian Reynolds, Shane Hillis, 18s Gabe Kerr, Dean Kerr, 19 David McConaghie, 20s Shane Hillis, Paddy Coyles, Johnny Cree, Jarlath McGarry, Dean Calderwood, 21s Leon McDowell, Paddy Coyles, Jarlath McGarry, Paul Henson.

Dean Kerr (Greenhills) had the week’s best finish with a 149 checkout, followed by a 99 by Rab Lynn (Slemish Tavern).

Greenhills duo Johnny Cree and Leonard McKeegan Snr both hit 180s.


BT/PO 6, FOuntain Arrows 2: BT - Ian Reynolds (2-1), Shane Hillis (2-1), Leon McDowell (2-0), Derek Campbell (2-0), Billy Gay (2-0) and Gary Gilmore (2-0). Fountain Arrows - Robert Beggs (2-0) and Davy McFall (2-0). Star player - Shane Hillis.

Clough Rangers 1, Greenhills 7: Clough - Jimmy Finlay (2-1); Greenhills h- Paddy Coyles (2-0), Johnny Cree (2-0), Gabe Kerr (2-0), Dean Kerr (2-0), Leonard McKeegan (Snr) (2-0), Pearse McGarry (2-1) and Jarlath McGarry. Star player - Dean Kerr.


Fountain Bar 4, Slemish Tavern 4: Fountain - James Greer (2-0), Jack Russell (2-0), Frank McDowell (2-0) and Willie Russell (2-1); Slemish - Rab Lynn (2-0), David McConaghie (2-1), Roy Gilchrist (2-1) and Dean Calderwood (2-1). Star player - Roy Gilchrist.

Buffs Club 2, Michelin 6: Buffs - Paul Henson (2-0) and Jason Trainor (2-0); Michelin - Clifford Marcus (2-0), Alan Penny (2-0), Matthew Carson (2-0), Bobby Carson (2-0), Herbie Dunlop (2-0) and Henry Eagleson (2-0). Star player - Herbie Dunlop.

Cosy Corner 2, Spinning Mill 6: Cosy - Stephen Purdon (2-1) and Deirdre Hamill (2-1); Spinning Mill - John Greer (2-1), Chris Greer (2-0), Stewart McClelland (2-0), Peter Stewart (2-0), Herbie Balmer (2-0) and Sammy Greer (2-0). Star player - John Greer.