Two points separate top six at Raceview

Jimmy Eagleson, Dessie McCartney and Carl McAuley at Ballymena Golf Club. INBT 18-840H
Jimmy Eagleson, Dessie McCartney and Carl McAuley at Ballymena Golf Club. INBT 18-840H

The Adrian Gribben memorial stroke competition at Ballymena Golf Club saw the first six nett places being separated by just two shots.

The winning score of nett 64 came from 12-handicapper Colin Robinson, who edged the win by a single shot from Stephen Thompson.

Robinson went through the first nine holes with four pars, four bogeys and a bride at the par five third, while his second nine accounted for six bogeys, two pars and a very rewarding birdie on the final hole.

Second-placed Thompson (19) found himself five over after three holes but he played the next six holes with four pars and two bogeys to be seven over entering the back nine.

As with the first nine, Steven shed five shots on the first three holes and he completed his round with four bogeys and two pars.

Brian Casey, who had a shot at each hole on handicap, posted the best of four nett 66s.

Brian played the first nine holes to his handicap and his second nine was better, despite dropping five shots over the final three holes but he had a better second nine on countback by half a shot from Donald Smyth.

Fifteen-handicapper Smyth relied on a better second nine hole total to nudge David Elliott into fifth place and 16-handicapper Elliott will rue a triple bogey on the 12th hole.

Once again, the better second nine was employed to see Elliott pip Jim Munn, leaving the 17-handicapper to claim sixth position.

Michael Smyth added to his good run in the best gross category with a round of three over par, 71 shots.


Qualifiers for the matchplay stage of this competition are: Jim Munn, Noel Totten, Laurie Windle, Andy Gardner, Eugene Reid, George B McCrea, William Russell, Ivan McMaster, Stephen Surgenor, Roy Warwick, David Mulholland, Paul Creevy, William Greer, William McKean, William Tuff, Roy Law.


The Sunday open stableford, sponsored by the golf shop at the club, was won by 20-handicapper Chris Worthington, with a total of 40 stableford points.

Twenty-two of those points came on the second nine which was enough for Worthington to claim victory over Seamus O’Boyle (17) who could only manage 19 points over the same stretch.

Third nett prize was taken by David Hanna (25) who scored 37 points, despite failing to score at either the ninth or 17th holes.


Eileen Timoney took the top prize in the ladies’ section’s Lifeboat Shield competition.

She saw off the challenge of the rest of the field in the Park Electrical and IDM sponsored stroke competition.

Jennifer Eagleson finished in second place, courtesy of a better back nine, from Paddy Fox.