Workman is Road Club’s time trial best all-rounder for fifth straight year

Rex Bonar, vice-president of Ballymena Road Club, receives a cheque Laura Blair and Fran Parrott of Blair International. INBT40-211AC
Rex Bonar, vice-president of Ballymena Road Club, receives a cheque Laura Blair and Fran Parrott of Blair International. INBT40-211AC

Steven Workman has successfully retained his Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – Time Trial best all-rounder champions title for a fifth successive season.

Steven, who first joined the club in 2009, had another great season in the club’s Northstone sponsored series of club time trials and he will collect four items of silverware at the club prize presentation dinner, which is scheduled for Leighinmohr House Hotel on Friday 21st November.

The premier prize is, of course, the Sam McQuigg cup for the club’s senior time trial best all-rounder competition. This has three qualifying distances at 10 miles 25 miles and 50 miles.

Workman’s winning times were; 20 minutes 37 seconds for 10 miles, 54 minutes 53 seconds for 25 miles and 1 hour 53 minutes 16 seconds for 50 miles. This represents a winning overall average speed of 27.640 mph.

In 2010 Workman won with 27.408mph, in 2011 it was 27.181mph, in 2012 27.290 while last year it was his fastest victory with 27.863 mph.

Runner up this season is Matthew Brennan with times of 21.31 (10 miles) 55.20 (25) and 2 hours 00 minutes 06 seconds (50 miles) for an average speed of 26.658 mph. Veteran Sean Wright is third with 26.276 mph while Jason Burns takes fourth with a personal best speed of 26.223 mph. (5) Tommy Wilson 25.327 mph. (6) Eileen Burns 24.353mph. (7) Martin Ruddy 23.937mph. (8) John Maxwell 22.994 mph.

Steven’s first trophy win came on 21st May at Woodgreen in the Stan Finlay memorial 10 miles time trial when he had a winning time of 21 minutes 32 seconds.

Trophy two for Steven was the Ernie Mark cup 25 miles time trial, also at Woodgreen, on 9th July when his winning time was 54 minutes 53 seconds.

Workman also won the Water Margin cup, which goes to the club rider with the fastest 10 miles time trial of the season. Steven’s winning time was 20 minutes 37 seconds recorded at Woodgreen on 23rd July.


The cyclists on Saturday’s Ballymena Road Club – Chain Reaction Cycles – fun tours had to endure the worse weather so far in this year’s series. Wet and cold conditions made it a difficult day but there was still a big turnout with a total of 75 riders assembling at Rex Bonar house at the start and once again they headed out in three groups.

The touring section completed a 41 miles ride which took in Gracehill, Ballymontena, Taylorstown, Moneyglass, Toomebridge, Bellaghy, Mullaghboy, Mayogall, Clady, Portglenone and up Tully.

Club chairman John Maxwell was absent with the “B” group being led by Jim Burns instead. Jim said “it was very cold at the start we had sun in the middle and rain from Maghera. Our route was - Cullybackey, Kilrea, Garvagh, Swatragh, Maghera, Portglenone. Then up Tully and back to Ballymena.

We did 53 miles at 17.4mph average.

Alan Blair’s “A” group had the furthest and fastest tour as they completed a 62 miles ride at 18.2 mph. Their route was Kells, Parkgate, Ballyclare, Kilwaughter, Larne, Glenarm and home.

Another £15 was donated to the charity fund on Saturday and this now stands at a total of £1021, and, with three more weeks to go, the £1050, which was the record total collected last year may still be beaten, especially if those who haven’t made a donation yet can do so.

Saturday was ride ten in the series and forty riders earned bronze or silver medals during ride nine and ten.

The successful riders were: Bronze (for five tours) Maurice Carruthers, Darren Crawford, Nigel Kernohan, Tom Caulfield, Sarah Elliott, Siobhan Fisher, Adrian Kirkpatrick, Breandan McCavana, Paul Patterson, Stephen Smyth and Simon Taggart.

Earning silver for eight or more tours were: Adrian Archibald, Alan Blair, Maura Bradley, Jim Burns, Fergus Byrne, Sammy Connor, Bobby Currie, Hazel Hughes, Bert Kernohan, Patsy McGurk, Trevor Magee, Gerry McCullagh, Beresford Millar, Bernie Monaghan, Paddy Mooney, Owen McLaughlin, Paul McQuillan, Paul McWilliams, Francis O’Kane, Lori Phillips, Kay Rainey, Davy Rankin, Derwood Ritchie, Colin Scullion, Jonathan Scullion, Maria Shannon, Andrew Wills, Sean Wright and Wilnor Worthington.


Tickets have been selling very quickly for the Ballymena Road Club’s 60th anniversary prize presentation dinner and dance, which is scheduled to be held at Leighinmohr House Hotel on Friday 21st November.

ALL those who have booked a ticket and haven’t paid yet must do so this week. Please contact Richard Wilson for details.


New members and those currently taking part in the fun tour series, can join Ballymena Road Club from Wednesday 12th November on line.

Go to and click on the JOIN icon on the top right of the screen. This membership will cover until 31st December2015 so you are getting 13 months membership for the price of 12.

The price for a non-competition licence is £45 which is for leisure cycling and would not cover racing.

If anyone needs help with the online system contact club secretary Hazel Hughes on 07775790067 or

If you haven’t access to the online system we hope to have a registration night early December for newcomers only.

Existing members may also renew their licences on line by using log on icon on the Cycling Ireland site.

There is no longer a discounted fee for introductory first time membership.

Prices are club race £75. Open racing £129. Junior £47. Leisure £45. Under 16 £35. Under 14 £10.