Adam first winner of Richard Turtle Memorial Trophy

Adam Hylands won the Richard Turtle Memorial Trophy. Picture: David Park.
Adam Hylands won the Richard Turtle Memorial Trophy. Picture: David Park.

It proved to be yet another evening of close and fast oval motorsport at Ballymena Raceway in the latest meeting on Friday night.

The pleasant weather conditions enabled the drivers to warm up for this weekend’s big championship events in fine style.

Main event on the 14 race programme, which was completed promptly by 10pm, was the Richard Turtle Memorial Cup for the National Hot Rods and it was European Champion Adam Hylands who became the inaugural winner after an absorbing final.

Hylands led the feature race from start to finish, but had to resist a strong challenge from John Christie over the closing laps before securing the silverware, with the final spot on the podium filled by Ballyclare’s Gary Wilson.

As well as the Richard Turtle Memorial Cup the winner also received four new Hoosier Tyres courtesy of event sponsors Townparks Car Sales and Greers of Antrim VOLVO.

National Hot Rods Richard Turtle Memorial Cup: 1st. Adam Hylands, 2nd. John Christie, 3rd. Gary Wilson, 4th. Garry Kelly


Another racer with good cause for celebration was Wilfie McNiece who left the Raceway £500 richer after victory in the Hill Contracts Supreme Series for Stock Rods.

Following heat wins for Kells teenager Adam Sloan and McNiece the points were tallied up over all the races in the series to determine the grid positions for the shoot out decider.

The results placed McNiece on pole with Larne’s Gareth Bevan alongside on the front row and it was McNiece and row two starter Steven McKane from Ballymena who quickly settled down into the front running positions.

After a flat out battle of speed between the pair it was McNiece who coolly kept his rival at arm’s length to claim the big money prize and head into this weekend’s British Championship event at Raceway in the best possible manner.

Yokohama Champion McKane was a gallant runner-up, with Bevan the best of the rest in third.

Stock Rods Hill Contracts Supreme Series: 1st. Wilfie McNiece, 2nd. Steven McKane, 3rd. Gareth Bevan, 4th. Richard Taylor


The line-up of classes in action was completed by the Group Two Lightning Rods, Euro Stocks and Junior Rods.

Once again the Group Twos continued to throw up a variety of winners as white grader Keith Lyttle became the fifth different GP2 final winner at Raceway in 2015!

The earlier heat races brought success for Cullybackey’s Darryl Reid and Andy McLeister from Ballymoney.

Irish Champion Stephen Doherty was the class of the field in the Euro Stocks division where his Honda motored away for a convincing win in the final.

Aaron McMullan’s immaculate Honda Civic accounted for the heat event.

The youngsters in the Junior Rods put on their usual energetic showing with Larne lad Samuel Wilson just holding sway over a fast finishing Antony Kincaid to secure his first final win at Raceway in 2015.

Wilson also accounted for one of the heat races, with the other win falling to Matthew Milliken.

GP2 Rods Final: 1st. Keith Lyttle, 2nd. Andy McLeister, 3rd. Nigel Doherty, 4th. Johny Gillespie

Euro Stocks Final: 1st. Stephen Doherty, 2nd. Bobbie Johnston, 3rd. Alistair Christie, 4th. Ryan Nixon

Junior Rods Final: 1st. Samuel Wilson, 2nd. Antony Kincaid, 3rd. Jack Kennedy, 4th. Joshua McKinstry