Two more Irish titles decided at latest Ballymena Raceway meeting

Competitors in the Junior Rod Irish Championship at Ballymena Raceway. Pictures: Davy Park.
Competitors in the Junior Rod Irish Championship at Ballymena Raceway. Pictures: Davy Park.

Two new names were added to the Irish Championship roll of honour for the 2015 season at Ballymena Raceway on Friday evening.

Andy McLeister from Ballymoney emerged victorious from a typically robust GP2 showdown to lift the coveted title from the first time in his Vauxhall Astra, with Rodney Stewart from Cullybackey and Broughshane’s Matthew Curran second and third respectively.

Junior Rod Irish Champion Antony Kincaid collects his award from Gemma Moody.

Junior Rod Irish Champion Antony Kincaid collects his award from Gemma Moody.

Five days after big brother Christopher won the F2 Stock Car Irish title at Nutts Corner it was the turn of Antony Kincaid to uphold the family honour and the Antrim teenager managed that in some style to claim the Junior Rod Irish crown for the first time. Jack Patchett and Jack Kennedy tracked the leader over the final laps, but Kincaid would never be headed in a flag to flag win.

The F2 Stock Cars competed for the Wash’N’Dash Super Cup where Gordy McKee from Templepatrick motored home for his second final win of the season at Raceway after star names Graham Fegan and Christopher Kincaid had accounted for the heats.

A number of the F2 Stock Cars were also put through their paces by some former Raceway favourites in the Legends Cup race where ex-Irish Champion Davy McCrory roared home ahead of Decky McFerran and Gary McFerran.

Stock Rods completed the classes on display and served up a first time winner in the form of Aaron Moody. The Ballymena lad was making his first appearance in the senior ranks and proved to be an instant success with a heat and final double victory in his immaculate Peugeot 106.

Stock Rod final winner Aaron Moody.

Stock Rod final winner Aaron Moody.

Wilfie McNiece and Steven McKane followed the seventeen year old home in the final, while the other race brought another win for Adam Sloan from Kells.


GP2 Rods - 2015 Irish Championship: 1st. Andy McLeister, 2nd. Rodney Stewart, 3rd. Matthew Curran, 4th. Darryl Reid, 5th. Graham Young, 6th. Jason Darragh

King of the North Trophy: 1st. Nigel Doherty, 2nd. Daniel Rodgers, 3rd. Freddie Fleck, 4th. Young, 5th. Darragh

Junior Rods - Irish Championship: 1st. Antony Kincaid, 2nd. Jack Patchett, 3rd. Jack Kennedy, 4th. Matthew Drysdale, 5th. Samuel Wilson, 6th. Joshua McKinstry

F2 Stock Cars - Wash’N’Dash Super Cup: 1st. Gordy McKee, 2nd. Billy Finnegan, 3rd. Christopher Kincaid, 4th. Dean McCrory, 5th. Craig McConnell, 6th. Sam McKay

Stock Rods - 1st. Aaron Moody, 2nd. Wilfie McNiece, 3rd. Steven McKane, 4th. Matthew McKinstry, 5th. Stephen Doherty, 6th. Lester McCloy


The Raceway action on Friday evening was kindly sponsored by Wash’N’Dash Mobile Truck Wash of Crumlin, BA Car Sales of Ballymena, BE Flooring & Darrell Hanna Auto Repairs of Limavady. The £50 Hot Lap bonus for the F2 Stock Cars was donated by Stewart Nicholl Motorsport and went to Graham Fegan who posted the fastest lap of 15.827 seconds in the final.


The action continues thick and fast at Ballymena Raceway on Friday evening (October 2) with another packed programme of races in store. The main attraction is provided by the 2015 Stock Rod Irish Championship where Wilfie McNiece and Steven McKane are the expected frontrunners, with Adam Sloan, Gareth Bevan and Matthew McKinstry amongst the other contenders.

The F2 Stock Cars contest their Stadium Championship with newly crowned Irish Champion Christopher Kincaid looking to secure another title, but World No. 2 Graham Fegan and Craig McConnell will both have their eyes on the prize as well.

First race gets underway in the Showgrounds at 7:15pm.