Derek's winning form at Woodgreen

BALLYMENA Road Club Scott Roof Tiles cyclists had a turnout of 16 club riders for their 10 miles time trial at Woodgreen last Wednesday evening.

Monday, 24th May 2010, 9:47 am
Updated Tuesday, 25th May 2010, 11:30 am

The event also doubled up as a round of the Ulster women's association time trial league series with an additional eight riders taking part in it.

Slaght veteran Derek Dougan was fastest in the BRC section with 23 minutes 00 seconds with David McClean second on 23.39 and Jim Burns third with 23.55.

David Kennedy recorded 24.58 to beat his recent best time by 19 seconds and he won the handicap section.

Results BRC fastest: (1) Derek Dougan 23.00 (2) David McClean 23.39 (3) Jim Burns 23.55 (4) Martin Ruddy 23.59 (5) Ryan Currie 24.07 (6) David Dougan 24.24 (7) David Kennedy 24.58 (8) Steven Lamont 25.11 (9) Louise Fullerton 25.24 (10) Clive Morris 25.57 (11) Sammy Kerr 26.05 (12) Tom Douds 26.49 (13) Steven Carruthers 26.51 (14) Beresford Millar 27.18 (15) Maurice Carruthers 27.25 (16) Maeve Savage 28.33.

Handicap section (1) Kennedy 23.41 (2) Morris 23.42 (3) Currie 23.45 (4) Millar 23.50 (5) Derek Dougan 23.58 (6) Savage 23.59

Steven Workman leads the club's time trial handicap league with 10 points from Matthew Brennan on 8. Three riders, David Kennedy, John McAllister and Clive Morris have 6 points each while Philip Bremner is sixth on 5 points.

Ulster Women's Association Time Trial League round three results.

(1) Orla Hendron (Orwell Wheelers) 22.49 (2) Rachael Withers (West Tyrone) 24.35 (3) Kay Hack (Bann Wheelers) 24.52 (4) Louise Fullerton (Ballymena RC) 25.24 (5) Julie Mulligan (Omagh Wheelers) 25.29 (6) Elle Forest (Bann Valley) 25.38 (7) Gillian Orr (Ards) 27.38 (8) Mandy Collie (Orchard) 28.06 (9) Bernie Gribbin (Carn Wheelers) 28.18 (10) Maeve Savage (Ballymena RC) 28.33

The Ballymena RC youth section were also in action on Wednesday night when they held a 2.5 miles time trial from Michelin to the Ecos roundabout and back, Chris Surgeoner was fastest with 7 minutes 44 seconds with Emma Gordon second on 8.43.

The Ulster Team Trial Championship was promoted by Phoenix at Woodgreen last Tuesday night and appropriately it was their team which took the honours over the 25 miles event. when they recorded an excellent time of 50 minutes 14 seconds.

Ballymena road club didn’t have a team entered despite the fact that it was on their home course.

However two of their ladies, Maeve Savage and Joanne Kee along with Sheena O’Neill took part in a ladies composite team and they recorded a time of 70 minutes 24 seconds.


BRC rider Conor McAllister sped to another win in the Dave Kane time trial league series in last Thursday night’s 10 miles event at Templepatrick.

Conor, who is currently riding for the Irish National team in the FBD Rs was a convincing winner as his 20 minutes 51 seconds time beat second placed John Madden (Curran Racing) by 47 seconds.

Nigel Laffin (Madigan) finished third with a 22-35.

On Sunday’s opening stage of the Ras, 149 kilometres from Dunboyne to Dundalk, Philip Bremner, who is riding on the Irish development squad, and Conor McAllister finished with a group of thirty riders some 20 minutes adrift of the stage winner, Dan Craven (Rapha)


Maeve Savage put in her best performance of the season so far when she raced to fifth place in Saturday’s Ladies race at the Groucho’s grand prix, which was held over four laps of the Tandragee 100 motor cycle circuit.

Maeve started with the middle group and was able to stay with the scratch riders whenever they caught her. She was halted briefly when her chain came off but once she got going again she chased hard and re caught the leaders.

The race winner was Julie Mulligan (Omagh) who now leads the women’s road racing league with 89 points. Maeve is up to sixth place on 61.


Ahoghill’s Ryan Connor traveled to Co. Monaghan on Sunday where he took second place to Martyn Irvine in the Emyvale Grand Prix road race. Results were: (1) Martyn Irvine (Planet X) (2) Ryan Connor (Irish Road Club) (3) Robert Moore (Stamullen) (4) Craig Sweetman (Stamullen) (5) Glenn Kinning (East Antrim) (6) Paul Mulligan (EuroCycles)


Wednesday 26th May. BRC’s A. Bonar cup 25 miles road race is scheduled for the Lisnamurrican circuit at Broughshane, registration takes place at Houston’s mill car park at 6.30pm. The youth section will race over one lap of the course for the Clarkes tyres cup.

The chief marshall for this race is John Maxwell who will be assisted by Beresford Millar, Paul Murdoch, Clifford Grant, Jackie Knowles, Sydney Stewart and Neil Millar.

Thursday 27th May 25 miles time trial league event Woodgreen at 7pm.

Saturday 29th May Audi Grand Prix road race Ballynure church car park 11am.

Sunday 30th Bobby Crilly classic road race promoted by Phoenix cc from Lamh Derg GAA at Hannastown.

Monday 31st May Ballymena road club’s youth section will hold their annual Ballymena school’s championship mini stage race at Broughshane starting at 7pm. All Ballymena Road Club youth riders and also any youth rider who is in attendance at a school in the Ballymena district, and who holds a current CU racing licence my take part.

The event will comprise a time trial, handicapped road race and a hill climb.

The Greer cup will be awarded to the individual winner while the Brian Russell trophy goes to the winning school team. Please make sure to state your school name when signing on.

Wednesday 2nd June BRC will hold their Combat Cancer cup 25 miles time trial (with a 5 miles event for ladies) at Woodgreen from 7pm.